Origin of the city's name
en.xa.gov.cn     Updated: 2019-01-31

In the year 1046 BC in the Western Zhou dynasty, Xi'an was called Fenghao, which was the combination of two cities, Fengjing and Haojing, established by the Emperor Wen and Emperor Wu of Zhou respectively. In the history of China, the two cities were the first national capitals to rule the entire state. In the early Western Han Dynasty (206 BC- AD 220), Liu Bang established his capital in Xi'an and named it Chang'an, which means “eternal ruling and permanent peace”; from then to the late Tang dynasty (618-907) the city took the name of Chang'an, bearing it as the capital of 13 dynasties for more than 1,100 years. After the Tang dynasty, Chang'an was renamed Jingzhou Prefecture during the Later Tang dynasty, Shaanxi Province during the Song dynasty (960-1279), Anxi Province during the Yuan dynasty (1271-1368), and Fengyuan Province later in the Yuan dynasty. It functioned as the political, economic and cultural center of northwestern China. In the spring of 1369, the second year of the Ming dynasty, Xu Da, a general under the Hongwu emperor, occupied Fengyuan province and renamed it Xi'an, meaning “to pacify northwest”. Since then, the name of Xi'an has been adopted.