Gyeongju City of South Korea


Located in the southeast of ROK, Gyeongju is only 2 hours drive from Seoul. It is not only a famous historical and cultural tourism destination, but also the environmental demonstration city of South Korea as well as one of the best choices in terms of living environment.

As the ancient capital with over a thousand-year history from the Woosong era, Gyeongju is the cradle of the Korean culture and national spirit. In ancient time, it was called Seorabeol, Gyerim, Kinashiro, and was called Gyeongju in the 23 year of the rule of Taejo of Goryeo (940 AD), in 987 it was called Kyoto, and regained the name of Gyeongju in 1012. The major cultural sites include world heritages of Seokguram and Bulguksa, together with Deareungwon, Orung, Cheomseongdae Observatory, Gyeongju National Museum, Anapji Pond and Nanshan Buddhist Relics Site, etc. Bomun Resort is famous in Gyeongju as one of the favorite tourist attractions with its perfect integration of the natural scenery, cultural heritages and comprehensive entertainment and recreation facilities.  

Gyeongju City has a population of about 290,000, of which the population of the city proper is about 150,000. Within its area of 1,324 square kilometers, it has 4 districts, 8 counties and 13 townships under its jurisdiction.

With its advantageous natural environment,  Gyeongju has been advanced in agriculture, animal husbandry and fishery since the ancient times. It is No. 1 in the country in terms of the number of Hanwoo (Korean Native Cattle). The city is also famous all over the country for its barbecue. In addition to traditional trades, in recent years Gyeongju also pays much attention to the development of its industrial sectors. At present they have built Lung-chiang and Waiyi Industrial Parks, with fiber and auto parts as major products.    

Gyeongju Municipal Government is the highest administrative organization in the city and Gyeongju Parliament is the highest legislative organ. The administrative structure is composed of 4 bureaus, 22 divisions, 2 offices directly under the municipal government and 9 firms.

On November 18, 1994, Gyeongju established sister-city relationship with Xi’an.


[Source:Foreign Affairs and Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of Xi’an City]