Kyoto City of Japan


Located in the south of Honshu Island, about 370 km to Tokyo and 45 km to Osaka, Kyoto City is the largest inland city in Japan, with a population of 1.474 million and an area of 827.9 square kilometers.

At the end of the 8th century, Emperor Kammu established his capital in Kyoto, and was then known as Heian-ky. In 1869, the capital of Japan moved from Kyoto to Tokyo.

Kyoto City is the famous ancient capital and tourist destination in Japan. There are altogether 17 temples listed in world cultural heritages by UNESCO, including Kiyomizu Temple, Kinkaku-ji Temple, Ginkaku-ji Temple, Kamigamo Shrine, Shimogamo Shrine, Nijo Castle and Nishi Hongan-ji, etc. Each year, there are about 500,000 foreigners and 35 million domestic visitors came to Kyoto for sight-seeing tours.

Kyoto City was once the largest manufacturing city in Japan, therefore it takes up a rather large market share in the country for its numerous electronic and machinery industries ranging from precision machinery, semi-conductor devices to storage batteries. Service industries such as wholesale, retail and catering also occupy a fairly big portion.

As the cradle of Japanese culture, Kyoto is filled with many academic and research institutions. There are altogether 124,000 on-campus students in its 38 universities including National Kyoto University, Kyoto Prefectural University, Ritsumeikan University and Doshisha University, etc.

Weeping willow, Kaohsiung maple and cherry bay are the city trees of Kyoto; camellia, azalea and sakura are the city flowers.

On May 10, 1974, Kyoto established sister-city relationship with Xi’an.


[Source:Foreign Affairs and Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of Xi’an City]